TSUSports.com: Dukes named SWAC Player and Hitter of the Year

Discussion in 'Tigers Sports Board' started by TigerFans, May 14, 2018.

  1. TigerFans

    TigerFans Administrator Staff Member

    Feb 19, 2013
    Likes Received:
    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. Kamren Dukes of Texas Southern was voted the Southwestern Athletic Conference Player and Hitter of the Year, as the league announced its 2018 Baseball postseason honors on Monday. The honors were voted on by the league's Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors.
    Dukes, a Pearland, Texas native, led the SWAC in batting average this season at .394, runs scored (57), and hits (84). The senior also racked up 40 RBIs, which ranked eighth. His 84 hits ranks third nationally.

    In conference play, Dukes was fourth in batting average (.448), scored 26 runs, totaled 46 hits and 32 RBIs to help lead the Tigers to a West Division Title. Dukes also has an active streak of 34 straight games with a hit.

    Aaron Solis of Texas Southern was voted the Pitcher of the Year. The junior and League City, Texas native had a 1.99 ERA, and a 7-1 record in SWAC play this season. Solis had an 8-3 record overall, which included three complete games.

    The entire All-Conference honors are below.

    Player of the Year
    Kamren Dukes (Texas Southern)

    Pitcher of the Year
    Aaron Solis (Texas Southern)

    Relief Pitcher of the Year
    Jose Tirado (Jackson State)

    Hitter of the Year
    Kamren Dukes (Texas Southern)

    Newcomer of the Year
    Raul Hernandez (Jackson State)

    Freshman of the Year
    Nickelle Galatas (Jackson State)

    Coach of the Year
    Jose Vazques (Alabama State)

    First Team All-SWAC
    C – Stephan Vidal (Jackson State)
    1B – Christian Sanchez (Texas Southern)
    2B – Gaudencio Lucca (Texas Southern)
    3B – Ray Hernandez (Alabama State)
    SS- Marshawn Taylor (Grambling State)
    DH- Richard Ortiz (Grambling State)
    OF – Kamren Dukes (Texas Southern)
    OF – Joseph Estrada (Alabama State)
    OF – Isaiah Torres (Grambling State)
    SP – Aaron Solis (Texas Southern)
    SP – Darrius Wright (Alabama State)
    RP – Jose Tirado (Jackson State)

    Second Team All-SWAC
    C – Hunter Allen (Alabama State)
    1B – Rafael Ramirez (Grambling State)
    2B – Wesley Reyes (Jackson State)
    3B – Jesus Santana (Jackson State)
    SS - Horace LeBlanc (Texas Southern)
    DH – Robert Perteet (Jackson State)
    OF – Lamar Briggs (Jackson State)
    OF – Sergio Esparza (Arkansas Pine Bluff)
    OF – Desmond Chumley (Jackson State)
    SP – Raul Baduel (Grambling State)
    SP – Carlos Lopez (Alcorn State)
    RP – Daniel Beizer (Grambling State)

    Courtesy: TSU Athletics

Share This Page