TSUSports.com: 2018 SWAC Volleyball Tournament Central

Discussion in 'Tigers Sports Board' started by TigerFans, Nov 16, 2018.

  1. TigerFans

    TigerFans Administrator Staff Member

    Feb 19, 2013
    Likes Received:

    Women's Volleyball | 11/16/2018 12:16:00 PM |

    2018 SWAC Volleyball Tournament Central
    Tournament Central
    ITTA BENA, Miss.- The 2018 Southwestern Athletic Conference women's volleyball tournament will take place Friday, November 16 through Sunday, November 18 on the campus of Mississippi Valley State University in the R. W. Harrison HPER Complex.

    The top eight teams based on SWAC league-play records qualify for the tournament. This season, the tournament will be single-elimination, and teams will be seeded 1-8 regardless of divisional affiliation.

    This year marks the 30th year schools will participate in the league's tournament. The winner of the tournament receives the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA tournament.

    Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Grambling State, Jackson State, Prairie View A&M, Southern and Texas Southern are the only teams to have captured the conference postseason title.

    Last year, Alabama State claimed its fourth SWAC championship in five seasons, defeating Texas Southern in four sets to win the title. Alabama State, Jackson State and Alabama A&M are responsible for the last 11 SWAC volleyball champions. If successful in their title defense, the Lady Hornets would become the first team in nearly a decade to reel off three straight titles.

    The semifinals will be shown live on the SWAC Digital Network, and the championship match will broadcast on ESPNU at Sunday, Nov. 18 at 9:00 p.m. CST. Fans can check back for box scores and photos after the match's completion.

    Admission to the each tournament match is free. T-shirts and programs are available for sale on site.

    Bracket (PDF) • Photo Gallery • Championship Preview • Tournament Notes All-SWAC Teams 2018 Volleyball Statistics

    Championship Recaps: 2017201620152014201320122011201020092008

    Courtesy: TSU Athletics

Share This Page